From beaches to Bourbon

I grew up near the whitest beach in Florida, but now I’m moving to New Orleans to start my new post-college life. I grew up three hours away from Nola in Pensacola, Fla. so I have visited New Orleans before. I have been to Mardi Gras there for the past two years with some friends from UF and this year’s parade was one of the most amazing times of my life — despite the stress of being charge of 12 people. But this year I will only have to step out of my house and onto the street car line to get to the parades instead of driving eight hours from G’ville. I already have an apartment in Uptown that is super cute and I’m hoping to join a krewe so that I can really immerse myself in the tradition of Mardi Gras; I’m hoping I will get to join the Krewe of Muses. Still looking for a job, but optimistic and excited for the future!

This summer, I’m trying to get the most I can out of Gainesville with the little money I have before moving. I just got back from a cruise to the eastern Caribbean. Next month, I am going to Europe with EF College Break (seriously good deals!). I also am on a mission to save up enough money to go to the theme parks in Orlando before I leave — so far two down (Epcot and Magic Kingdom), three to go (Sea World, Universal and IOA). My boyfriend, Wesley, and I already checked off most of the restaurants in Gainesville that we wanted to try before leaving, so all that’s left is to work, work, work to get the money to do all this stuff and still be alive in August to move!

Leave a comment

Filed under Moving

Leave a Reply

