Preparing for the Big (and hopefully Easy) move

When I go to a new place (especially to live) I like to learn about that city’s real and fictitious history.

One mission I have for the summer is to read a bunch of book s and watch a lot of movies that are set in New Orleans.

On my quest to do this, I realized there are a lot that I’ve already read or seen:

  • The Awakening by Kate Chopin
  • Very New Orleans by Diana Gessler
  • The Client by John Grisham
  • Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice (plus movie)
  • All Dogs Go to Heaven
  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button
  • Deja Vu
  • Double Jeopardy
  • JFK
  • Last Holiday
  • The Skeleton Key
  • Ray
  • Catch Me If You Can

There are still a lot that I am looking forward to reading/viewing this summer:

  • Voodoo Dreams by Jewell Parker Rhodes
  • Nine Lives by Dam Baum
  • Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole
  • Gumbo Tales: Finding My Place at the New Orleans Table by Sara Roahen
  • Old Creole Days by George Washington Cable
  • A Streetcar Named Desire
  • Gone With The Wind
  • A Love Song For Bobby Long
  • New Orleans
  • Obsession
  • French Quarter
  • Vendetta

These are the ones I want to read/see personally, but here is the most complete movie list I found.

1 Comment

Filed under New Orleans

One response to “Preparing for the Big (and hopefully Easy) move

  1. Hello and welcome to the big NOLA!

    I just recently shut down a gift basket business and have several extra copies of Confederacy of Dunces- I’d be happy to donate a copy to the welcome wagon, if you’re interested. 🙂

    Also, if I could add a suggestion, Anne Rice is often a loon, but if you’re looking for good, old-fashioned Uptown capital-A-Atmosphere, I’d go for The Witching Hour, which was set in her house on 1st Street.

    Tess

Leave a Reply

