Hump-day bore

Since I started this job, I’ve discovered a few things:

  1. The mornings at the restaurant in the summer are slow,
  2. most of the people I work with are pretty nice,
  3. shoes that don’t hurt your feet after standing for five hours are impossible to find,
  4. and it apparently rains every single day in Nola in August.

One interesting thing happened at work today, though. I met one of the managers I have never met before. Here’s how our first conversation went:

Manager: So Michelle, where did you go to school again?

Me: The University of Florida…. (pause for confused face from manager)…. The Gators?

Manager: Uck! Well, you’re in Tiger country now.

Me: The Gator Nation is everywhere.

Me — 1. Manager — 0.

My point was proved later when two lovely ladies from Melbourne came in. I won’t get into the details of our conversation because it’s tedious, but it ended with them yelling “Go Gators!” in front of my manager. That really made my day.

I did have some disappointments today. I tried to go to the Garden District Bookshop and it apparently closes at 6 p.m. and I tuned into Fox to watch the new show Glee and it apparently has been pushed back to September.

The upside: tomorrow and Friday I don’t have to work and Wesley’s parents are coming into town so we should have a pretty good time. The downside: I do have to work on Wesley’s birthday (Saturday) so he’s getting up at 7:30 a.m. to drive me there…and the same on Sunday. So we’re not staying out late drinking for his B-day. At least it’s not his 21st.

1 Comment

Filed under New Orleans

One response to “Hump-day bore

  1. I worked restaurants as a server for almost three years, and my BEST advice is spend the $50 and get a decent pair of non-slip work shoes. Then, line them with thick socks and gel inserts. Standing for so long with crappy shoes can give you back problems and cause some serious foot pain. I also recommend getting one of those $20 foot bubble baths, or soaking your feet a couple nights a week in warm water. Bengay works fairly well, too. After a few weeks your feet get used to it, but the good shoes really are worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

