First week of work: Complete!

Besides getting some pretty great free food at work, I got to eat at a lot of good local restaurants this week.

Hand Grenade from Tropical Isle on Bourbon Street

Hand Grenade from Tropical Isle on Bourbon Street

First off, the pain in my feet got progressively worse throughout the week. After the first day, I learned one the hard way and visited the mall that same night to buy Naturalizers. They definitely helped, but I ended up having to wrap my feet in athletic tape just so I could walk.

Besides that, work has been slow, which I heard is normal for Nola restaurants in the summer.

Wesley’s parents had a good visit. We went to a lot of local restaurants that they had seen on the Travel Channel. The first place we ate was called Mother’s Restaurant. Their roast beef poboy was uh-mazing. We also visited Parasol’s Restaurant & Bar, this Irish bar that looks extremely sketchy from the road. I had a meatball poboy that was decent, but the highlight was definitely the gravy fries.  I will return just for the fries. On their last night, we went to a place near our house called Lebanon’s Cafe for Wesley’s birthday. I’ve never had Lebanese food, but the falafel and summer salad were excellent.

We also went out for drinks on Bourbon Street, where I got my normal Hand Grenade from Tropical Isle.

I’m really looking forward to getting my first paycheck and saving up money in the future so I can join the UF Alumni Association and the Krewe of Muses. But for now, my money will be going towards a month-long trolley pass for my work commute.

1 Comment

Filed under New Orleans

One response to “First week of work: Complete!

  1. I know all about those hand grenades. Unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

