Everything happens for a reason

I have split days off this week, yet again. Normally, this would be a bad thing. It’s amazing how having your off days split by an “on” day can make it feel like you don’t get a break at all.

This week, however, it’s a good thing.

I’ve always believed that everything happens for a reason, and this week I was proved right.

I got a notice in the mail a few days ago stating what my monthly payments are going to be on my federal student loan: $200. That’s almost four times as much as my private loan which is for more. I always thought that federal loans were supposed to be better than private loans, but I’m really not seeing it right now.

Because of this terrible news, I kicked up my job hunt. Four times this fall, I have taken my job hunt to the next level and sent out 50-100 applications in a matter of days and this weekend was one of those times.

Today, I was using my day off to try to sift through the scam responses and apply for more jobs. Then, I found one. I found a job that so perfectly matches my abilities that I can’t let it go. I sent the editor my resume. I called him to make sure he got it. I e-mailed him again to tell him every time I would be available for an interview. And now, I have an interview on Wednesday (which I wouldn’t normally have off) and three trial (paid!) articles to write this week. If I didn’t find out about the payments, I wouldn’t have kicked up my search and found the job. If a girl at my work had not asked for Tuesday off, I would not have had Wednesday off for the interview. There’s no way this could all be coincidence.

I also called the Federal Direct loan people and found out that I’m so pitifully poor right now that I qualify for economic hardship deferment. It’s cool because if I don’t find a higher-paying job by late November, I won’t have to start paying loans for another 12 months.

And to top the day’s accomplishments off, I finished a project I’ve been working on for weeks.

Good day; very good day.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

