On the edge of my seat…

I feel like I have been playing the “hurry up and wait” game for the past week.

Last Monday, a co-worker cursed me out, screaming into my face while at work. Supposedly, he was drunk. His punishment was that he got to go home and sleep it off only to come back days later and act like nothing happened while I was forced to seat him tables. This was really the final draw for this job and me. I couldn’t take it. I have never been so disrespected or treated so poorly before in my life. Maybe I’ve been privileged, but I am just not going to be degraded in that way.

The next day, I searched for a job harder than I ever have. I applied to any job that I qualified for — and some I was extremely over-qualified for. I even interviewed with people who sell things at booths in Sam’s Club. I was ready to do anything to get away from these people at my current job. (Now, most of the people are nice, don’t get me wrong, but it’s the few that are SO rude and disrespectful that I just needed to get away from.)

That’s when I found it: my perfect job. At a weekly paper in a small town outside of Nola. My time at the High Springs Herald (now the North Florida Herald) prepared me for this job so perfectly that it was as if God himself had planned for me to work there.

I got an interview last week and have been writing trial stories for them. I wrote my last one just a few hours ago and I just received a call from the editor: we set up a meeting to “talk about a job” tomorrow morning!

I don’t want to count my chickens before they hatch, but it certainly sounds promising.

Besides my total preoccupation with getting this job, I did get a chance to read The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold. It was excellent. Check out my review (and our book club’s new look). I’m very excited to see the upcoming movie, as well.

0910290026

My cat pumpkin

Halloween came and went fairly quietly. We had a few trick-or-treaters; mostly kids who were really too old to be doing it still. I carved a cat pumpkin. I rented The Witches of Eastwick — always good. Wesley did law school stuff (surprise!).

Thinking about re-reading Pride and Prejudice, so that I don’t look so pathetic to my book club by continuously writing reviews on three books per month instead of one, because I have no social life. I did just find this awesome Web site called the Republic of Pemberley — Austen fans check it out!

On a much smaller note, I found a poster in my National Geographic and put it up on my wall. It matches my couch. 🙂

DSCF0239

National Geographic poster of the Khmer Empire (where I have actually been!)

1 Comment

Filed under Random praises and condemnations

One response to “On the edge of my seat…

  1. Tina Jo Ellingson

    Great poster! Great couch too!

Leave a Reply

