I don’t like money, actually, but it quiets my nerves.

I saw this quote by Joe Louis and just thought it really describes how I feel about money in a funny way. Money seriously irritates me because I need it so much but it’s just stupid paper. But without it, I’m a nervous wreck.

This quote by Dorothy Parker is perfect for describing how I feel now that I finally do have some money:

“I don’t know much about being a millionaire, but I’ll bet I’d be a darling at it.”

I haven’t even received my first paycheck yet and I’ve already spent my next three months worth of money — at least in my mind.

There are just so many things I have wanted to buy or do in the past few months that I’ve been deprived of!

For instance, my computer and my camera are old and quickly dying so I want to buy new ones.

Then, there are places in New Orleans that I’ve wanted to visit, like Audubon Zoo and the graveyard tours.

There’s also the UF Alumni Association, which I did go ahead and buy membership to, and joining the Krewe of Muses, which was a big goal of mine before I had even left Gainesville.

And then there’s those luxuries in life, you know, health insurance. My job offers some, but it’s not very good and would not allow me to keep my Florida doctors so I’m opting to get health insurance on my own. I found a pretty cheap plan through BCBS that’s less than $200/month.

Just imagine what I could do with $1 million…

 

1 Comment

Filed under New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

One response to “I don’t like money, actually, but it quiets my nerves.

  1. Give me a shout before doing the ghost tour thing… or if you’d feel like being a guinea pig. I’m considering starting to do cemetery tours on the side… but not of the usual suspects in the Garden Dist & Quarter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

