I’m a Muse!

I finally heard back and I’m officially a (non-riding) member of the Krewe of Muses!

I don’t get to ride in the parade, but I do get to participate in all of their social gatherings and volunteer work, which I’m really excited about.

I joined just in time to celebrate King’s Day (aka. Twelfth Night) this Wednesday and officially kick off the Carnival season with the krewe.

During the event, I’ll also get a chance to see another New Orleans tradition: the Phorty Phunny Phellows who ring in the Carnival season each year.

Speaking of Mardi Gras, I found this great Web site that has all the parades listed on it. I found out today that Stacey will definitely be joining me the weekend before Fat Tuesday for some awesome parades, including a few Uptown parades on Friday night (Le Krewe d’Etat, Krewe of Morpheus) and maybe the Krewe of Endymion and the Krewe of Tucks on Saturday. So exciting!!

Unfortunately, she won’t be here on time for the Krewe of Muses parade, but I’m still going to get her some awesome beads!

Any suggestions for other parades we should try to hit up in addition to or instead of these on Friday and Saturday? I’m also looking for suggestions on parades that Wesley and I can go to on other days or nights — any parades we definitely should not miss for Wesley’s first Mardi Gras?

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans

Leave a Reply

