Knights of Excaliber/Krewe of Atlas

Krewe of Excalibur/Krewe of Atlas, Feb. 5

Tonight, I went with my friend, Melanie, to see the Krewe of Excalibur and Krewe of Atlas parades in Metairie.

It was a lot less crowded than I expected, but I’m kind of glad because we got some good stuff and didn’t have to fight for our turf…too much.

The two parades seemed to have a similar theme because we saw a lot of repeat floats – Dr. Seuss, Wizard of Oz, Three little pigs, etc. I know one of the themes was “Knight-time stories” but I’m not sure what the other’s was.

They all had very elaborate costumes, or headdresses – I’m not sure what they were, but they were pretty.

Best beads from the parade

We parked over at Clearview Mall, where my boss told me was a good spot. He was definitely right!

We got there an hour early, got a great spot near the beginning of the parade and were able to get out without hitting any traffic at all. I’m very impressed with our trip.

Tomorrow: the Quarter!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans

Leave a Reply

