Mystic Krewe of Shangri-La/Krewe of Pontchartrain

Mystic Krewe of Shangri-LA

Today, I went down to the Quarter with my mom to watch the Krewe of Pontchartrain. Such a mistake.

This my third Mardi Gras in New Orleans, but I have attended Pensacola and Mobile parades my entire life. The Krewe of Pontchartrain was, by far, the worst parade I have ever been to.

I literally caught two beads. Two beads.

Their Web site claimed 15 floats and 20 bands – there were no more than six floats and maybe five bands, if that.

What the hell happened?

We did get a chance to walk paste the Mystic Krewe of Shangri-La as it was getting ready to roll in the Quarter (we were walking to claim our spot for the parade of disappointment).

We got more beads and better pictures from the two Shangri-La floats we walked by than the entire Pontchartrain parade. The people seemed more excited and friendly, as well.

King of Mystic Krewe of Shangri-La

Long story short: I will never waste another two hours of my life waiting for and watching the Krewe of Pontchartrain parade. I wish I could get those hours back and go to Metairie. We passed the Metairie parades tonight and they looked amazing.

Let’s put it this way: The Krewe of Pontchartrain was so disappointing that I am not even going to put a picture of the parade on this post. Mostly because the pictures were very boring.

1 Comment

Filed under New Orleans

One response to “Mystic Krewe of Shangri-La/Krewe of Pontchartrain

  1. Food for thought. I am grateful to you for that, however my thanks don’t end there. I am color blind (protanopia to be precise). I use Opera browser (no idea if that makes a difference), and a good many sites are challenging to comprehend thanks to a problematic choice of colors employed ithe design. On this web site, as the selection of colors is fine, the site is amazingly clear and easy to comprehend. I don’t know whether it was a calculated and considerate act, or just a lucky fluke, but nevertheless, I thank you.

Leave a Reply

