Oscars

First off, I would like to throw my picks for the Oscars out there; if you like ’em you can take ’em, if you don’t you can throw them right back. I’m not picking in every category because there’s a few things I feel that I’m not informed enough to choose. Here we go:

Best Picture: Avatar

Best Actress: Sandra Bullock, the Blind Side

Best Supporting Actress: Mo’nique, Precious

Best Animated Film: Coraline

Best Adapted Screenplay: District 9

Best Makeup: Star Trek (in that they hit the original really well)

Best Film Editing: Avatar (didn’t it take Cameron like 4 years to edit all that film? That’s dedication.)

If you don’t like my picks, print out your own ballot and vote before watching this Sunday!

On a side note, I thought it was interesting that the Princess and the Frog has two songs up for “Best Original Song.” I’m not an avid Oscar watcher – in fact this will probably be the first year I’ll watch them all the way through – but I’m wondering, does this happen often? Or is this something special? Either way, I need to see this movie.

Backing up a little – let me tell you why I’ll be watching the whole show this year. The Prytania Theatre near my house is showing them on the big screen and for $25 you get to join the fun with a bunch of locals, fill out your mock ballots, eat and be merry!

2 Comments

Filed under New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

2 responses to “Oscars

  1. Jamille

    Great pics, mostly because i agree with all of them. Watching at the Prytania sounds fun! I’m envious! Love you! xo

  2. Cynthia

    Princess and The Frog was super cute!! And the music was good!!!

Leave a Reply

