A very long week

What I need, but can't afford, after this long week

As noted in the title: I have had a very long week. I worked seven hours of overtime on just Monday and Tuesday. And I know that’s nothing compared to the amount of time that my editor puts into this paper, but it’s the first time in my life that I have ever put in overtime.

Apparently, nothing I do is really appreciated in the “management” department – if you can call a cowardly person who is never around a manager. But I know my editor appreciates the job I’m doing and I’m very glad that I can be a reliable partner for him and a contributing member of the community that I work in.

I really love this job and I can’t believe that I am lucky enough to be doing something I actually like with people who, for the most part, are amazing.

I worked from 8:30-8:30 on Monday and Tuesday to get this week’s issue out and I feel pretty accomplished.

That being said, can I just vent for a second about how completely pissed off I am?

No training and only a few short months later, I am on top of my game. I love my job, and I think people can tell. I get everything done on time, without being told, and I do it damn well.

But apparently I don’t deserve to have enough money to pay off my student loans, my rent, buy groceries and still have a ridiculously crazy, frivolous spending spree of being able to take my boyfriend to a movie or pay for my half of dinner.

But it’s all worth it, because I love my job.

Leave a comment

Filed under Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

