I’m walking for my dad

This year, I will be walking in the American Heart Association’s Heart Walk for my dad.

My dad died of Acute Myocardial Infarction, a type of heart attack, on March 11, 2000 at the too-young age of 42. I was 12 and my parents had just celebrated their 20th wedding anniversary. He never got to see me graduate high school or college and he won’t be there when I get married – it was too soon.

Now on the 10th anniversary of the year he died, I am going to participate in the Heart Walk. I’m doing this to commemorate him, but I’m also doing it for another important reason: my kids. I know I don’t have kids yet! lol But one day I will, and heart attack and heart disease is a very genetic thing – one that many members of my paternal family have died of.

Me, my dad and my cousin, Sarah

As the leading cause of death in this country, cardiovascular disease claims almost as many lives each year as the next seven leading causes of death combined. Research is getting closer and closer every day to at least detecting these problems sooner, and prevention and detection is the key to living through heart disease and other heart-related problems. All of the money raised for this walk goes to heart disease and stroke research and education.

The event will be in New Orleans on Sat., Nov. 20 at 9 a.m. I know it’s a long way away, but the longer we have for fundraising the better. Please invite anyone and everyone you know who would want to contribute to this cause.

Donate directly to me and my team, Team Walking on Sunshine, by clicking here.

The more people we have working to defeat heart disease and stroke – the better, so please join me today!

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

