Crazy week

So much has happened around town in the past week.

First off, seven people got shot blocks away from where I was walking with some of my family in the French Quarter on Saturday night. It must have happened just after we left and we literally walked right over where it would happen just about an hour later.

Second, a chemical leak happened at a plant in Norco and I was sent to take some breaking news pictures. Also, a fire happened at this nature preserve. Both of these happened the day before the paper went out, so we had to change everything around and write new stories. Super fun. But seriously, it was pretty exciting.

Finally, today I got a little break by going to the Muses‘ Thirsty Thursday at this bar called the Rendon Inn in the Uptown/Midtown area. It was kind of small but very clean and the owner was extremely nice. I didn’t win any of the raffles, but who was I kidding thinking I would actually win something with my bad luck?

I’ve been reading Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter lately and it’s pretty humorous – I finally know the truth about what happened at Roanoke Island!

Reading about that really got me thinking about how much I love historical mysteries, like Roanoke, such as the Shroud of Turin, Easter Island, that book that predicted the Titanic, etc. My friend showed me this site called Unsolved Mysteries (I’m not sure if it’s the same as the tv show) that has a pretty decent collection of information on them. And I’m not sure if the Donner Party is so much an unsolved mystery since there were survivors, but I just read an article stating that they may not have become cannibals after all.

If anyone knows other interesting “unsolved mysteries” please comment! I know there are a bunch but I just can’t remember them.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

