Tornado warnings and hail…in Louisiana

It's raining flowers in my Uptown/Carrollton neighborhood

According to The Weather Channel, Louisiana was supposed to be one of the states in the path of a huge storm that is sweeping the nation.

Southern Louisiana specifically was supposed to get a downpour of rain, wind and possible large hail.

I didn’t see any hail, but there was a lot of wind! Enough to blow a bajillion flowers off our neighborhood trees. [see picture]

Because of the weather, my team ended up not going to walk in the March for Babies, which was a huge disappointment.

The upside was going to be sitting inside, listening to the rain and reading. But as my luck would have it, of course it stopped raining the second I got up. However, it’s still not a nice enough day to really go outside as it’s overcast, windy and just plain yucky outside.

So I guess I can still read free of guilt that I could be doing something more productive.

I finished the last Sookie Stackhouse book last week and am ready for the release of Dead in the Family on May 4. I’m excited that Eric is finally going to be Sookie’s official significant other, something I’m afraid will never happen with True Blood with the way they’re portraying him.

www.savory.tv

Julia Child learning to cook in France

Now I’m reading Julia Child‘s My Life in France and it’s really cute – not as stiff as I thought it would be. I have never watched Julia’s tv show or read her cookbook, so I wasn’t sure what to expect. But her view of France is beautiful and it’s very close to how I felt about it when I first visited: upon arrival, I wasn’t sure what to expect but was scared of the Frenchmens’ snooty attitudes. Then, I fell in love with it quite suddenly and unexpectedly.

She also had a cat that looks like Kitten, so that’s a plus.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

