Shell shocked

Even though I knew it was coming, I was still shocked when oil washed ashore on Pensacola Beach today.

I cried for about 20 minutes in my office before hitting the road to go home early. Then I cried the entire 40-minute drive back to my house – even when I got to see President Obama’s motorcade.

I don’t want to be selfish, but I feel like I’m a little more hurt by all of this than an average person. You can’t really understand how I feel unless you lost a parent who was cremated and had their ashes scattered in the Gulf – right where the oil is now taking over.

Some people go to cemeteries to talk to relatives who have passed away – I used to go to Pensacola Beach and take a swim to talk to my dad. And now I may never be able to do that again. Can you imagine someone coming to your family cemetery and accidentally dumping toxic garbage all over it, meaning that your family’s remains are desecrated and you can never go there to pay your respects again?

I normally don’t like to curse in these posts because I want to keep it professional, but I think my dad would have been totally fine with this.

Fuck you BP. Fuck you.

Leave a comment

Filed under Florida, Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

