One-year post!

One year ago today, I sat down and started this blog about the adventure I was beginning by moving to New Orleans with my boyfriend after graduating college.

On June 6, 2009, I had just earned my journalism degree and had a part-time job as a newsroom clerk (ie. mail distributor, newspaper archiver and one-story-a-week writer). I was casually looking for a job in New Orleans and majorly dreaming about coming-up escapades in Europe. And I lived with my best girlfriend in a wonderful apartment in a city full of my friends and fellow Gators fans.

Now, 95 posts and one year later, I finally have a full-time job as an editor after months of searching, hundreds (literally) of applications and three months of hell working at a restaurant in the Quarter. I’m dreaming of ever having enough money to pay my bills for the month and about my trip to Albuquerque in October to see my best friend and ex-roommate for only the third time since I’ve moved here.

[ It’s really something (awful) to go from living with your best friend to seeing them only twice a year. I can’t imagine how Kitten feels – my best friend also had a cat who lived with us for a year and grew up with Kitten. ]

Back then, I was thinking about joining a Mardi Gras Krewe to make friends in New Orleans, now I’m a Muse and I met most of my friends in town at the krewe gatherings.

A year ago, I said that Pensacola Beach was the whitest, most beautiful beach in the world. Now it’s being covered by oil.

It’s been a surprising, shocking, awful, amazing year and I’m glad that I have this blog to look back at this huge transition in my life and my first impressions of life after college in the Big Easy.

1 Comment

Filed under Moving, New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

One response to “One-year post!

  1. Rebecca

    Ugh Myko misses Kitten something terrible. Almost as much as I miss you!! 😦

Leave a Reply

