Feng Shui (pt.1)

Three years ago, I moved into my very first apartment. I was very possessive of it, wanting to make it the perfect space. This led me to a book called Feng Shui your life by Jayme Barrett.

At the time, I had no idea that Feng Shui was anything more than organizing and placing furniture in a way that would utilize space effectively and nicely. Once I got the book, I found out that Feng Shui is a lot more than that – it is a whole-body, inner and outer energy healing process. Now, if you know me you know that the whole “energy” thing is not something I really believe in at all. I mean, I believe that different colors and uses of space can make you feel more at peace and different things like that. But like I have told my mom, for example during an argument over a very pricey rock purchase: “No, I do not believe that a random rock has special energy that makes you feel good just by holding it or having it near you.”

Anyway, back on track. I recently picked that book up again (I had no patience for it before and not really any time or motivation to implement its teachings).

I read through the first chapter this afternoon about the essentials, which include the four types of Feng Shui: practical, energetic, symbolic and personal.

Practical steps to improving your life through Feng Shui include un-cluttering your living space (which I already do), take out reminders of people or things that upset you (such as pictures of ex’s – duh), and adding light and plants to rooms.

I have to say I’m definitely hesitant to bring a plant into this apartment because I’m terrified of it being a symbolic welcome mat for the neighborhood bugs. I really hate bugs.

The energetic category included suggestions like creating yin and yang in the home with opposites. I don’t know that I’m ready to take my redecorating to that level, but it’s something to think about.

With Symbolic Feng Shui, the book says to basically put happy little reminders around your home, such as posters that say positive things or the more subtle items that remind you of happy times, such as seashells.

Finally, in Personal Feng Shui you focus on the flow of energy through your body and surroundings. This is the one I had the most trouble with – Hello, crazy hippy talk! I still don’t buy the whole “human energy field” but I definitely do buy that colors and things can relax a person.

It also talked about choosing a personal color palette with colors that create moods you want more of – such as harmony or relaxation – I’m still not sure about wearing gold automatically meaning you will be wealthy…

I like the idea of color palettes and dressing for Feng Shui, though. I have always been a big advocate of the idea that looking your best means performing your best – I always dressed nicer on test days than regular class days.

Then at the end of the chapter, there is basically a little overview of what the chapter was about and some quick ways to implement the teachings into your life immediately.

I tried to do them all: Make three to five practical changes (such as dishes, laundry, etc.), open windows or curtains to let in light, look around and note symbolism of items, take a salt bath, pick out a new color and create a fun plan with a favorite person.

So, I did some dishes, did some housework and picking up and seriously took an epsom and table salt bath. It was literally the best bath I have ever had. I made plans with Wesley to visit Abita Brewery tomorrow and decided to wear a color that will create a mood that I’m looking for more of in my life, such as yellow for optimism or blue for relaxation.

I’m still getting to looking around for symbolic items…

All in all, just taking my mind off of everyday stresses by reading and doing some of the things suggested in the book really helped me to relax, so I’m glad I did it.

Just as an aside: readers should know that I think that book/movie, The Secret, is the biggest load I’ve ever heard of. And it makes otherwise sane people do ridiculous things, like buy random expensive rocks because of their amazing energy and think that they can win the lottery by simply thinking about it hard enough. I think Feng Shui is the way to go here, not that book’s ridiculous method of the law of attraction. I’ll give that author one thing – he knows about marketing. Ugh. That’s all I have to say about that.
Leave a comment

Filed under Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

