Wes Moore: The most interesting man in the world

I just finished The Other Wes Moore: One Name, Two Fates by (who else?) Wes Moore.

The book is about two men: Wes Moore (the author) and Wes Moore (the convict who is serving a life sentence in prison for murder).

This was an excellent, EXCELLENT book that I really think everyone should read. Wes and Wes both were born into similar circumstances in the same area around the same time. But the smallest decisions by their families, friends and themselves landed them in drastically different situations.

But there is something else about this book that really demanded a blog post – more than my normal book club review.

Besides being the author of this book, I have recognized one universal truth: Wes Moore is… the most interesting man in the world. (He doesn’t always drink beer, but when he does, he prefers Dos Equis.)

Just an excerpt from the author, about the author – so that you can see why I say this:

“…after receiving the Rhodes Scholarship, I spent two and a half years completing my master’s in international relations at Oxford…When I returned to the States, I interned in Washington D.C., focusing on homeland security…after completing my graduate degree, I joined the world of high finance on Wall Street…I became a member of the 82nd Airborne and headed to Afghanistan…upon my return to U.S. soil, I was accepted in the White House Fellow program… I had the honor of spending a year as a special assistant to the secretary of state, Condoleezza Rice…I’ve climbed Mount Kilimanjaro…I’ve worshipped with thousands of other Christians in the Yoido Full Gospel Church, the world’s largest Christian congregation, in Seoul, Korea…I’ve stood in awe as dusk settled on the blue-tiled Sultan Ahmed Mosque in Istanbul…I stood in the cell that held Nelson Mandela for eighteen years…I searched for family in a small Cuban town outside Havana…I have danced all night in Haarlem, Amsterdam and in Harlem, USA…I have climbed through the Pyramid of Khufu in Giza with nothing but a flashlight to show the way…I kissed my wife for the first time in St. Mark’s Square in Venice on a cold New Year’s Eve…I have sung in Carnegie Hall…I’ve stood in humbled silence at the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe in Berlin…I have sat with the former president of Brazil, Fernando Cardoso, and listened intently as he argued the virtues of cane-based ethanol, and I’ve worked with a small-farm owner in Brazil as we both chewed the honeyed liquid from freshly cut cane stalks…I proudly spoke in front of tens of thousands of people at INVESCO Field in Denver forty-five years to the day after Dr. Martin Luther King gave his “I Have A Dream” speech..and just hours before President Barack Obama would take the same stage and at the same microphone proudly accept the Democratic nomination for President.”

Lol Hope you got through that, because it’s a true story. But don’t worry, he’s not so gloating throughout the book – he only lists that stuff in the epilogue. And honestly, if after doing all that, if he doesn’t have a right to gloat, who does?

Leave a comment

Filed under Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

