Four-eyes

For the past few months I have been driving/walking around with a million little scratches in my glasses.

Scratches

It was literally as if there were a million little things in front of my eyes all the time. I kind of got used to it. The plastic lenses also seemed to start degrading somehow – forming what looked like small grease-bubbles all across both lenses. You know, like when you’re frying something and the grease splatters out of the pan onto something? Yeah.

So like I said, once you are looking through that pretty much 24-7 for a few months you get used to it.

I decided when I first started seeing the scratches earlier this year that it was time for a new pair of glasses. I planned to get some around Christmas time, but they scratches started spreading at such a rate that I could not wait.

So I asked some friends in town and was referred to America’s Best Contacts & Eyeglasses in Elmwood (Harahan).

I’m only about two weeks and half-way through with my experience there which I will describe next, but let me preface this by saying it’s a good thing Wesley went too. His experience is in total contrast with mine so I feel like we really got the full deal.

Two Saturdays ago we both went for eye appointments. The store has this great deal where you get a free eye exam and two pairs of glasses for $69. (Too good to be true, right? Yeah.)

Our eye appointments went smoothly – not too long of a wait, substitute doctor who was still super nice and seemed to know what he was talking about.

Next step: picking out glasses. If you have ever been anywhere, done anything or bought anything with me then you know that I have a hard time making final decisions about things like this. Add on top of it that this was Wesley’s first pair of glasses ever, and you have the two of us staring/trying on glasses for about 45 minutes.

We both found our two pairs – we each got regular pair and a pair to make into sunglasses.

They told us we could pick them up in a week. Seemed simple enough.

Five days later, Wesley got a call – his glasses were in. So I figured that since we bought them at the same exact time, mine would be too. No such luck. Oh well, it wasn’t a big deal. That was Thursday.

On Friday, I called to see if mine were in and they told me only one of my pairs had come in: the sunglasses. Well, I thought better one than none and went by to pick them up.

When I got there, the woman seemed very confused and pulled out a pair that had my name on them. But they were the regular pair, not the sunglasses. I looked through them and immediately noticed something was off. She claimed that it was just because the writing was still on the lense and proceeded to try to scratch the writing off with a pen. Right in front of me. ::sigh::

Long story short, those were not infact the glasses I needed to pick up. They were the frames I picked out, but they had accidentally put them in the wrong drawer and they had no even been sent out yet. After getting three people to look, they finally found the sunglasses that were done and I took those.

Three days later, I got a call saying that they had accidentally broken the frames I picked out (the same ones the woman scratched around on in front of me) and that I needed to come pick out a new pair.

The upside is that I wasn’t really super happy with my first selection and now I can go to a different, hopefully better-run location of the store and pick out a good pair.

Sorry for the long rant, but people need to know about my experience with America’s Best!

Leave a comment

Filed under Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

