Four years!

Today is me and Wesley’s four-year anniversary (my lucky number!), but here I am at 7:30 a.m. on a Sunday writing on my blog because I have been up all night very sick. Ugh.

The one hour that I did get to sleep, I dreamed I was driving to my (deceased) great-grandmother Eula’s house and a crazed man ran into the road and shot me. Fun.

The craziness of that dream had me waking up mumbling “No…no…” — not that enthusiastic of a response from someone’s who’s being shot. But it got me thinking about the fact that I truly remember my dreams in graphic detail every single night and how unusual that is.

I Googled it a little and came up with this: stress and eating after 8 p.m. can cause you to have vivid dreams. But I found nothing on why you may remember them all the time. As far as what is causing my dreams, I can count eating after 8 p.m. out because I definitely have tested that one. I think I can count stress out too because while I am super stressed, I have been able to remember my dreams my entire life. So, I either have a stressed-out personality (entirely possible) or that’s not the reason.

Another interesting tidbit is that almost all of my dreams are nightmares — so that’s a finger pointing to stress, I guess. I also often have short bad dreams in which I’m falling, drowning, being shot, etc. and I wake up with a start — something I learned is called a myoclonus jerk.

I found this bit of information that I thought was kind of interesting and I had not heard before:

“Nightmares are much easier to remember for several reasons. First nightmares are vivid, frightening and often jolt you awake. Whenever you are awakened in the REM stage of sleep, you are much more likely to recall the events of your nightmare. Secondly, nightmares tend to occur in the early morning hours, when you are about to wake up.”

So, I may be having many dreams – good and bad – all night, but I only wake up during the bad ones. Makes sense.

Or if you believe my grandma, I’m psychic, so…

Anyway, it is just more of a reason to try yoga (which I’ve been trying to will myself to do for the past few weeks). I had the whole money excuse of not going before, but now I have a gift certificate for five classes so I really should go take them. What I have really by dying to try is acupuncture….but I digress.

Anyway, back to my anniversary. Wesley and I took a stroll through Lafayette Cemetery No. 1 yesterday — so romantic-sounding, I know, but it was really nice. Then he took me to Commander’s Palace right across the street for brunch and it was ah-mazing.

Here’s a little something about the restaurant for those who don’t know:

“Since 1880, Commander’s Palace has been a New Orleans landmark known for the award-winning quality of its food and many commodious dining rooms. The history of this famous restaurant offers a glimpse into New Orleans’ ante-bellum past. In the early 1880’s, when Louisiana officially joined the nation, eager young Anglo-Saxons flocked to this promising territory to make their fortunes. Since the Vieux Carré was the stronghold of the proud Creoles, these “Americans” (as they were defined by the Creoles) sought a residential section of their own. Thus was born the Garden District, with its stately Greek Revival homes and quiet, tree-lined streets.

Here in the Garden District, George W. Cable entertained Mark Twain; here Jefferson Davis spent his last days. And here, in 1880, Emile Commander established the only restaurant patronized by the distinguished neighborhood families. He chose the corner of Washington Avenue and Coliseum Street, a site that had been in turn, part of the J.F.E. Livaudais Plantation and the faubourg of Lafayette. In 1854 it was engulfed by the city of New Orleans and by 1900 Commander’s Palace was attracting gourmets from all over the world.

Under different management in the twenties its reputation was somewhat spicier, however. Riverboat captains frequented it and sporting gentlemen met with beautiful women for a rendezvous in the private dining room upstairs. Downstairs however, the main dining room (with its separate entrance) was maintained in impeccable respectability for family meals after church and family gatherings of all sorts.

Paul Prudhomme and Emeril Lagasse are two of its most famous alumni. It has been recognized as one of the top 40 restaurants in the U.S. by Gayot.com.

And for my Florida people, I learned something interesting: A new Commander’s Palace restaurant in Destin opened July 9, 2008…and subsequently closed a year later lol.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

