Sleigh bells and sickness

Presents from me and my mom -- before adding the family's loot

[Side note: I am really surprised that I knew how to spell sleigh! It looked so wrong to me, but I went with my instinct and then Googled it and I spelled it right.]

Christmas Eve with the family went well. I got and gave a lot of great gifts and ate too much food, as usual. The downside this year was that my two baby cousins, Aidan and Logan, caught a bug from daycare. They seemed fine when they first showed up to the event, but Logan quickly became incapacitated. By the end of the night, he was feeling so bad that he said he wanted to just lay down and not open the rest of the presents – he’s 4, so that’s a big deal.

From their symptoms, it seemed like a really bad case of food poisoning. However, 24 hours later, I was woken in the middle of the night with terrible stomach cramps, nausea and a 102-degree fever. By 7 a.m., I had talked to my family and four others had the same symptoms.

I’m finally over it, but driving back to Nola on Sunday night was a nightmare. Kitten’s meowing was the only thing that got me through it. Then, of course, I came home to find out I had accidentally left the air conditioning on full blast the entire weekend. It was about 40 degrees outside and 50 inside my house. I ended up sleeping on the couch directly in front of our ghetto open-flame heater on full-blast all night.

I seriously thought about calling in sick to work, but when you work at a newspaper (especially one with only two staff writers) the show must go on!

But now I’m feeling 100 percent better and very excited to have another four-day weekend for New Year. I’m working on my 2011 plan — I usually come up with a resolution, a fitness issue, etc. I can never settle on just one thing. I already decided that my resolution is to be more outgoing and participate with my Nola friends more. As far as fitness, I have decided to try to run. I’m not going to push it, but I’m seeking advice from some friends I have that run and coming up with a run-five-minutes-walk-ten-minutes plan for Audubon Park.

One goal I have for the 2011-2012 years is to learn Italian. I got Rosetta Stone for Christmas and I hope to finish the courses around the same time that Wesley finishes law school – wish me luck!

Leave a comment

Filed under Florida, New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

