It’s that time of year again

The Saints are in the playoffs, Carnival season has begun and the cold is officially setting in.

I’m watching the Saints/Seahawks game right now and hoping that our boys will regain their first quarter lead. Being on Bourbon Street for the Super Bowl last year will, I’m sure, be one of my favorite memories of New Orleans.

I headed to the Avenue Pub on Thursday to kick of Carnival with 12th Night/King’s Day celebrations with the Muses. We ate some amazing Randazzo’s king cake and cheered on the Phunny Phorty Phellows as they rode by on the streetcar. I didn’t catch anything from them, but the three servings of king cake was more than enough to make the trip worth my while. I also went on the pub’s balcony for the first time and was really impressed with it.

Crowd gathered outside of Avenue Pub to great the Phunny Phorty Phellows on the streetcar

But we really knew it was Mardi Gras season when we stopped by Winn Dixie and saw Abita’s Mardi Gras Bock on sale!

To top it all off, the cold is back. Last year, Louisiana had an unusually harsh winter and it looks like this one will follow tow. We have already had temperatures in the 20s, but in typical deep south fashion, the temperatures constantly fluctuate between 20 and 70 degrees. Last week, one day it got up to 72 degrees, but the low last night was 45. Tomorrow the high is 49 degrees, then by the end of the week the high is back about to 67.

On a different note, I attempted one of my New Year’s resolutions today. I really want to be a “runner” – you know, those random crazy people who actually seem to enjoy jogging all the time. The ones who will get up at 5 a.m. to job before work if they have to. Yeah…I would like to be one of those. But since my family has a history of knee problems, which I have already had experience with, and I generally despise exercise, I knew this resolution would be a real challenge. But today I discovered RunKeeper via some Facebook friends and I’m hoping it will help me accomplish my goals. It allows you to plot out routes, tells you the exact distances and then keeps a log of all of your runs. I posted my first run (3.16 mi around Audubon Park) this afternoon! My only gripe about RunKeeper is that it won’t allow you to put run/walk. If I walk half and run half intermittently, there really isn’t a way of recording that. But oh well.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans, Random praises and condemnations

Leave a Reply

