Putting on my water waders

This last week has been crazy for everyone living along the Mississippi River. Last Monday, the Bonnet Carre Spillway was opened in the parish I work in, diverting 250,000 cubic feet of water per second from the river to Lake Pontchartrain. Then on Saturday, the Morganza Spillway was opened over by Baton Rouge.

The river’s water levels are reaching historic highs, near to levels during the 1927 flood. So on Sunday, my mom and I decided to walk up to the levee by my house and take a look, and we sure got an eye-full:

The water is usually about 4-5 feet lower than that. It was almost to the top of the levee! It was so shocking that there was a small crowd of people who had set up lawn chairs along the levee to just watch the water rising. (There were also some crazies out swimming in the water – ewe.)

House on the river side of the levee in New Orleans

Even more shocking was my discovery that there are houses…on the wrong side of the levee. I don’t know how or why, but there are houses along the levee on the river side and there was water up to their front steps, and even higher on some. I was shocked. Whole porches and driveways were already under 3-4 feet of water.

Hopefully the river will go down a bit when the effects of opening the Morganza hit the New Orleans area. For now, I’m just glad that my apartment is far enough away from the levee that it wouldn’t be totally washed away if the levee broke…and therefore, Kitten would be okay if I was at work.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans

Leave a Reply

