I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride my bike

Story weather on the Mississippi

Since we moved to New Orleans, I’ve been trying to come up with some kind of exercise routine that is practical, cheap and something I will actually do for an extended period of time without getting bored.

A few weeks ago, I thought of bicycling. I had a bike in college but never used it to get around because, ya know, you get all sweaty and stuff.

When my mom came to visit a few weeks ago, I asked her to bring my old bike. It had a very, very rusty chain and gears – but other than that it works fine. At first it made some horrid noises when I rode it, but once I put a bunch of WD40 on it – despite countless advice not to – it worked just fine, no squeaks.

Is this a hazard I seriously need to worry about while riding my bike in Nola? lol

I’ve been riding about 5 miles a day for about 10 of the last 14 days – so far, so good.

It’s a good time to be riding on the levees – it’s a good chance to check the water level and make sure I don’t need to pick up Kitten and get out of town.

Leave a comment

Filed under New Orleans

Leave a Reply

